My New Goal

Okay. My Malaysian novel first draft stands at 67,355 words, according to Open Office.

A debut novel is around 80,000 but I should allow for 80k to 90k which gives me room for rewriting and editing. Today is May 4 which means…I have about 20 days to aim for the Apprenticeships in Fiction deadline of May 31.

This means from tomorrow until about May 25, I SHOULD aim for a daily word count of 1,000 to 1,500 words. Is this achievable?

1,000 words is about three pages on the Open Office… It can be done. If I don’t sleep well and cut down on the procrastinating. The only other major time sapper (other than the job hunting and *cough* chat with friends) is the two days a week volunteering at this charity shop…which I am committed to, and besides, the volunteer work gives my life structure. I certainly can’t stay cooped up at home feeding in on myself!

The AIF sounds like an awesome programme, with an opportunity at the end of the year to be referred to a literary agent. My former mentor David Bishop says not many people will be submitting for fantasy, so I am going to give it a try. I already had to sadly give a pass on the Angry Robot Open Submissions Month in March. Heck, that was part of the reason I went back to Malaysia, to get some critical research done before that March 31 deadline.

But in the end I had to be realistic and face-up that there was no way I could hand up something unfinished and unpolished. Yes, I am angry at myself at not finishing the novel fast enough, but I would rather hold out hope and wait for similar opportunities rather than submit something sub-standard. I have to be professional. The novel must be as good as it is going to get.

Damn, must remember to submit that job application for Press and Marketing Assistant by tonight or tomorrow. *wince*

Leave a comment

Filed under Angry Robot, Apprenticeships, Novel, Work, Writing

Leave a Reply

