Procrastinating Achievement

My Old Library. Ahh, for decent shelves again...

I can’t believe I actually managed to send off my AIF submission on time, after reaching 81k words on the novel. It gives me hope because it means I can commit to the discipline of writing novels, something I struggled with due to my tendency to procrastinate!

My best friend send me this link about procrastination…which I should really open and read one of these days.

Still I’m feeling an incredible buzz for getting so far. My novel Malaysian Dark, almost done! I can see the end in sight, and even the ending has already been written. Now I just need to finish the scenes leading up to the climax. Heck, I’ve already been thinking of ways to revise and polish the novel – scenes I should add to give context and meaning – which is a good sign.

Can’t wait to get started on the writing. But I need to finish some other writing-related commitments which might(!) earn some income. That and another job application is due in early June.

Last week I already sent an application for a bookseller position at the Edinburgh International Book Festival. Am a bit worried have yet to hear a reply because interviews were supposed to have started from May 22 until early June. I even sent the application early. Ah well, have to remain upbeat.

It also seems like I might have to suddenly fly to the St Albans area within the next week. What a time for the Iceland volcano to erupt! Life, always amusing, never dull.

Wow. Suddenly am feeling a wee bit frazzled.Β *goes to play a game*

7 Comments

Filed under Apprenticeships, Computer Games, Novel, Photography, Triumph, Work, Writing

7 responses to “Procrastinating Achievement

  1. Oh, good luck with everything! It sounds like you’ve got some wonderful prospects coming your way (I’m quite excited to hear more about Malaysian Dark!) — and that picture is lovely!

    Actually…is that Alan Campbell’s Scar Night I spy in there? ‘Tis one of my favourite books, so I must say, I approve of your taste. πŸ™‚

    • Haha, thanks! Now imagine that picture…times nine, and you have a rough idea of how large my library was πŸ˜‰

      Coincidentally Scar Night was one of the books on our required reading list during my Creative Writing Masters course. We were even lucky enough to have Alan Campbell to give us a fascinating talk on fantasy world building – absolutely wonderful.

      And I would love to talk about Malaysian Dark some time! I also noticed all the lovely cats on your blog πŸ™‚

      • Your library sounds like it was wonderful. πŸ™‚

        And oh my god, that is amazing! I may or may not be a little bit in awe of that man, ahaha.

        And yes, you must let me know more about this book of yours! I’m pretty easy to get a hold of (I do the whole twitter thing — @jaceyfaye — and check my email rather obsessively if you’d like that), or you can always make a blog post about it and pimp it out to the world at large, if you’ve not already. πŸ™‚

      • I will indeed blog about Malaysian Dark one day! Maybe I should finish the book first, though πŸ˜‰

        I don’t mind giving you an idea of it through email if you don’t mind, but I’m easy, hee. Thanks for subscribing!

  2. Well see, if you start blogging about it now, you can start gathering up future readers who will be waiting to pounce on it the minute it’s ready. πŸ˜‰

    And yay! ‘Tis jaceyfaye at love dot com. ♥

Leave a Reply

