The Scars We Carry

I overslept and woke up at 5.42am(!) when I was supposed to rouse at 2am. (Rouse? Who says that nowadays?)

Ahk. Writing, writing, must finish the Edinburgh article. So very close. A few hours from now I leave for the charity shop where I volunteer.

To settle down, I jot down a shortfic inspired by something I experienced yesterday:

BUMPING INTO A COLLEAGUE – I stare and try not to stare at the white lines slashing all down your arms. “I used to hurt myself,” you say, so casually, as if it didn’t bother you to wear clothes revealing those marks, like a hundred badges of defiance or honour. I murmur apologies. You cheerfully say it’s okay. We go our separate ways. My own scars are so small in comparison; they still don’t hurt any less.

2 Comments

Filed under Charity Shop, Fantasy, Photography, State of Mind, Writing

2 responses to “The Scars We Carry

  1. writing a shortfic settles you down? how awesome are you 🙂

  2. Heehee. Another word for it could be Procrastination 😉

Leave a Reply

