Useful Advice, or Day 2 NaNoWriMo

My friend Jennifer, who writes children’s stories, has this nifty piece of advice for writing a YA novel:

Definitely think about the age range you are aiming for. “Young Adult” covers quite a lot but are you aiming for the upper or lower end of the teen scale?
Definitely don’t drive yourself crazy by looking at what kids that age are already reading, chances are it’s crap. Strive for something their parents will think is a good idea (the best kids books are loved by adults too).
Don’t be afraid of the big complicated words but don’t just drop them like bombshells. Either use plenty of context when using words like that or have the younger characters actually ask someone what it means.

Update: Jennifer also adds: Writing something the parents will definitely not approve of is also a good angle to go in at, and one that might be more applicable to what it is you’re trying to do.

I made my daily word count requirement with relatively little angst.

3423 / 50000 words. 7% done!

However I’m beginning to think my YA story isn’t very YA, at all! I can already imagine this on restricted lists, haha. Although it was a bit of a struggle to start writing in the beginning (No Plot, No Problem suggests that for Week 1, we turn off our Inner Editor) I am enjoying the freedom in letting my imagination go wild. I only worry I might end up creating one of those silly and nonsensical worlds my Evil Magna Carta listed!

Did another 1,000 words of Malaysian Dark too. This novel is shaping up a bit more, but I have yet to see how my main character can make the jump towards the ending.

Finished the writing a bit late today, as had to also prepare questions for a job interview tomorrow, ugh.

On the plus side, I apparently have my weekend waitress job back.

On the bad side, I am getting relatively sick of pizza.

*Takes off Blessed Hat* Good night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Novel, State of Mind, Triumph, Writing

Leave a Reply

