Cake, or Day 17 NaNoWriMo

Ha!

Survived the interview, which wasn’t as hellish as I thought. It was actually almost pleasant, and I didn’t barf on the interviewers’ shoes. Which I suppose is always a plus.

Better yet, I have rescued my laptop from the repair shop and I finally caught up on my word count! Woohoo!

28458 / 50000 words. 57% done!

I hereby rewarded myself with a quick three-minute chocolate cake in a mug!

Mmmmmn. This was deliciously warm and scrumptious, especially after a hard slog. I usually whip this up when I can’t be bothered to cook an entire cake which I certainly cannot finish alone!

It used to be the same Chocolate Cake in a Mug recipe on the internet, but now I see all sorts of weird variations. I repeat below for whoever’s interested, with my notes and substitutions 😉 It requires a microwave and is super easy.

Chris’ Super Easy / Lazy Chocolate Cake in a Cup (or CSELCCC)

4 TBS flour
4 TBS caster sugar – although I have used granulated or brown sugar with no problems
2 TBS unsweetened cocoa
1 egg – some recipes suggest 2 tablespoons of whisked egg!
3 TBS milk
3 TBS sunflower oil – don’t laugh, but I used olive oil. Some recipes suggest butter as substitute
3 TBS chocolate chips
1/4 TSP vanilla – some recipes do away with this
1 mug – or things are going to be somewhat awkward

Toss flour, cocoa powder and sugar into the mug. Stir together thoroughly – recipes keep suggesting a whisk, but this penniless writer uses a fork.

Add the milk, oil, vanilla and egg. Whisk ingredients together until smooth. A spoon is easier to stir with at this point. Make sure your fork/whisk/spoon reaches the bottom of the mug! That flour down there be tricksey and likes to hide.

Once smooth (I always can only achieve “semi-smooth with the occasional pimple”), add in the chocolate chips. Some recipes seem to like adding cinnamon or peppermint. Experimenting is lovely and how all good mad scientists are born.

Pop mug into microwave for 2 1/2 to 3 minutes. Don’t be alarmed if the cake rises and shoots all the way above the rim of the cup. It’s supposed to do that. Do be alarmed if microwave comes on fire – reach for extinguisher or call fire services.

Once cooked, remove carefully and allow to cool a bit before removing cake onto a plate to eat. Some suggest having ice-cream with it. I don’t bother and eat it virginal from the cup. Mmmmmn.

Happy cakeing!

10 Comments

Filed under Books, Fantasy, Food, Novel, Photography, State of Mind, Triumph, Writing

10 responses to “Cake, or Day 17 NaNoWriMo

  1. I’ve never seen a cupcake before. Well I’ve seen cupcakes, not cakes-in-cups. I trust you that it’s delicious, especially the “semi-smooth with the occasional pimple” part. Yum.

  2. This is super simple.. didnt realize cake baking could be done in a mug.. thanks for posting and sharing with all…I now know how to satisfy my 4 yr old’s cake cravings!

  3. A cake in a cup? I’ve never seen that before.

  4. I want try this soon!! When you have the time, do drop by my new space. I’d love to hear from you.

  5. That does look intriguing! Congrats on your writing progress. You’re much further along than me. My goal is to finish the book by the end of the year, but I still need to make more progress: http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/participants/jacquelineboone/novels/heart-language-one-girl-s-journey-to-rural-china/stats Thanks for the motivation! I

    • Haha, thank you for visiting!

      I didn’t even realise I could do that all those lovely stats on the nanowrimo website (oops). I nearly didn’t commit to NaNoWriMo because I was still deciding whether to do it. And then suddenly on October 31 I was like, “I’ve got a writing buddy! I’ll do it!” No outline, no preparation, nothing 😉

      Thank you for visiting! Your novel looks interesting. Have you been to China before?

Leave a Reply

