Writing Reminders to Self, or Day 18 NaNoWriMo

30039 / 50000 words. 60% done!

I’m already 30,000 words into my YA novel for NaNoWriMo, and I am starting to get a little nervous.

I still seem to be in Act One, as it were, and I haven’t even booted the hero out the door on his Grand Quest yet! Am I spending too much time (and words) on set-up? Shouldn’t there be some action and adventure right now before readers start muttering, “I’m growing old reading this!”

I had a (now laughable) image of myself nicely wrapping this short tale by the 50,001th word.

Then I relax, because I remember that:

  1. I’m writing this novel mainly for myself. NaNoWriMo is supposed to be a fun experiment, and by butter, I will take as much time as as I want!
  2. The Three or Five Act Structure guideline which scriptwriters and novelists are so fond of is just that – a guideline. I shouldn’t be a slave to it, although it is a useful tool to keep me on track.
  3. This post-apocalyptic dystopian fantasy world I’m creating is a bit more elaborate – and convoluted – than I expected, and the setting is a key part of the plot. Hence why I’m taking a bit more time with it. At the same time, I know I must resist worldbuilder’s disease – that temptation to shove the world down the reader’s throats!
  4. The hero is stuck in a building where he is not only surrounded by allies, but antagonists who keep messing with him. As far as conflict goes, I’m fairly comfortable I’m keeping him on his toes.
  5. The novel is also a personal journey of the hero and his relationship/friendship with this other character. This relationship is tricky and needs to be explored in depth…before I tear them apart and toss the hero into the maws of the dragon 😀

So there! I am fairly satisfied everything’s on track, although I now realise there’s no way this story is finishing at the 50k mark. The only thing I need to remember is that this ‘hero’ of mine needs to change and develop by the end of the tale – he has to be different from what he was at the beginning.

Woohoo!

I got my laptop back with a new hard drive, rescued my writing notes, reinstalled all my critical programmes, and most important of all, I found that my computer has the requirements to play Skyrim. WOOHOO!

Not only that, a friend promised to give me this game if I manage to finish the first draft of my other Malaysian novel by Christmas! Oh to play a computer game again!

Yeeeeeess, I waaaaaaaaants it, my precious…

This song is gorgeous. It kept playing in my head while I was doing my kitchen job. Which, let me tell you, makes for epic dishwashing.

Still waiting on the outcome of two job interviews. Getting anxious. God, please let me have money! I was a (fairly) good person this year!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Computer Games, Fantasy, Malaysia, Novel, Skyrim, State of Mind, Triumph, Work, Writing

Leave a Reply

